Shade Tree Commission

The Township of Ocean Shade Tree Commission is composed of residents of the Township of Ocean appointed by the Township Manager.  The Shade Tree Commission exercises control over the regulation, planting, care and control of the trees and shrubbery located along the streets, public places and parks in the Township of Ocean.

Urban Tree Canopy Assessment

Bareroot tree planting and care instructions

Tubeling planting instructions

 Potential Tree Species 

The Shade Tree Commission generally meets on the first Thursday of each month at 7:00 P.M.

  • November 5, 2020
  • December 3, 2020
  • January 7, 2021
  • February 4, 2021
  • March 4, 2021
  • April 8, 2021
  • May 6, 2021
  • June 3, 2021

The Shade Tree Commission meetings are held virtually at this time.  Please join from you computer, tablet or smartphone.  You can also dial in using your phone US +1(669) 224-3412.  AccessCode 806-959-357

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts:

Click here for a link to meeting agendas and minutes.

The members of the Shade Tree Commission are:

  • Norman Colten, Chairman (term exp. 12/31/21)
  • Moshe Gordon (term exp. 12/31/21)                
  • Hank Kliem (term exp. 12/31/21)
  • Mary Johnson (term exp. 12/31/21)
  • Stephen Gaudette, Member
  • Michele Crosta, Alternate I
  • Ken Lutz, Alternate II
  • Marc Rogoff, Associate
  • Carolyn Gulick, Associate
  • Laurel Von Gerichten, Associate
  • Christopher Siciliano, Mayor

You may contact the Shade Tree Commission through Donna Oates by e-mail at or call (732) 531-5000, ext. 3301.

Additional Links