The Department of Public Works

The Department of Public Works is made up of five divisions; Administration, Buildings and Grounds, Streets and Roads, Sanitation and Recycling, and Fleet Maintenance.  Each of these divisions has tasks unique to its responsibilities, however all divisions work together in many facets of the department to provide services necessary for a safe, clean and healthy environment.

The Sanitation and Recycling Division is responsible for the collections of household garbage, bulk trash and recyclables.  Schedules for the collection of single-stream recyclables, household garbage and bulk trash will help you determine how to properly dispose of your waste.  The Recycling Office is responsible for the education and enforcement of the Township recycling program.

The Township of Ocean utilizes Automated Collection to pick up household garbage and single-stream recycling.  Applications are available for additional garbage and recycling carts.

This Division works all holidays except New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.  When New Year's Day or Christmas Day falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the preceding Friday; if the holiday falls on Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday.

The Streets and Roads Division maintains the roads and streets including the collection of brush and leaves, street sweeping, storm drain repair and cleaning, snow plowing and repair of potholes.

The Buildings and Grounds Division maintains the parks and recreation areas as well as being responsible for the operation, maintenance and management of Township properties and buildings. This division installs, repairs and maintains municipal street traffic signs, lines and markers.

The Division of Fleet Maintenance maintains and repairs all Township vehicles including police vehicles and specialized pieces of equipment.

Our 2019 Recycling Guide with Leaf and Brush Collection Schedules now available.

 

Contact Information

Dial direct: 732-531-5001
or 732-531-5000 and use the following extensions:    

Tom Crochet, CPWM
Director
extension 3360
tcrochet@oceantwp.org

Nancy Peak
Administrative Assistant/Recycling Coordinator
extension 3362
npeak@oceantwp.org 

Alissa Papa
Administrative Aide
extension 3363
apapa@oceantwp.org 

Hank Kliem, CPWM
General Foreman
extension 3385
hkliem@oceantwp.org

William Bergeron 
Foreman
Roads Division
extension 3365
wbergeron@oceantwp.org

Corey Butler
Foreman
Sanitation Division
extension 3367

cbutler@oceantwp.org

Mark Disakias
Foreman
Buildings & Grounds Division
extension 3368
mdisakias@oceantwp.org 

Fleet Maintenance Division
extension 3366